The SheltonMindel℠ brand continues the legacy of the firm founded by Peter L. Shelton & Lee F. Mindel in 1978 as Shelton Mindel & Associates.  The firm continues to provide complete architectural, interiors and product design services for corporate, cultural, academic, retail, recreational, hospitality and residential clients, under the sustaining leadership of Lee F. Mindel, Architect, D.P.C., a New York Design Professional Corporation which performs all architectural services.

The firm is one of the top American interpreters of classic modernism in the industry today. Guided by principles of light, nature and simplicity, SheltonMindel’s renowned designs and creations focus on simple construction, organic shapes and unity of materials. Derived from form and function, SheltonMindel’s work transcends both to become art forms.

The firm is the recipient of thirty-two AIA awards for architecture, twenty-nine Interior Design Magazine Best of Year awards and finalist mentions for residential and commercial interiors; twenty-five design awards from the Society of American Registered Architects, five NYCxDesign awards and honors, a Progressive Architecture citation, three Roscoe awards for product design, as well as eight Good Design Awards, seven International Architecture awards, six American Architecture Awards from The Chicago Athenaeum and one AIA Long Island award. Architectural Digest has recognized SheltonMindel℠ as one of the top 100 design firms on the AD100 list for 26 years and Elle Decor has honored SheltonMindel℠ on the Elle Decor A-List for 6 seasons. The American Institute of Architecture, San Francisco Museum of Fine Arts, National Academy of Design and Houston Museum of Fine Arts have exhibited the firm’s work in both traveling and permanent exhibitions. Product design lines include collections for Sutherland, Knoll, Waterworks, Design Within Reach, Jack Lenor Larsen, and V’Soske. Peter L. Shelton and Lee F. Mindel, FAIA were recognized as the Deans of American Design in 2005 and were inducted into the Interior Design Hall of Fame and were the recipients of the prestigious 2011 Cooper Hewitt National Design Award awarded at The White House by First Lady Michelle Obama.



  • Lee F. Mindel, FAIA

    Lee F. Mindel, FAIA received his Master of Architecture from Harvard University in 1976 after obtaining his Bachelor of Arts, Cum Laude, with Distinction in Architecture, at the University of Pennsylvania.

  • Peter Shelton

    The Late Peter Shelton studied architecture at the University of Pennsylvania and Pratt Institute where he received his degree in 1975.


  • Grace V. Sierra

    Grace V. Sierra, an Associate and a Senior Interior Designer, graduated from Parsons School of Design in New York City.

  • Maggie Martinez

    Maggie Martinez, an Associate since 2006, received her Bachelor of Arts, magna cum laude, from the College of New Rochelle, with a focus in Communication Arts & Business Administration.

  • SiAe Sung

    SiAe Sung, AIA, an Associate since 2013, received her Master of Architecture from University of Pennsylvania and her Bachelor of Architecture from Cooper Union.

  • Mili Savic

    Mili Savic, an Associate since 2017, received her Master of Arts from the UNESCO Chair in Cultural Policy and Arts Mangement from the University of Arts in Belgrade + Universite Lyon & her Bachelor of Arts from Bard College in Political Studies and Creative Writing.

  • Clayton Feurer

    Clayton Feurer, an Associate since 2018, received his Master of Architecture from The University of Kansas & his Bachelor of Science from Northwest Missouri State University.

  • Laura Limberger

    Laura Limberger, an Associate since 2020, received her Master of Architecture from Curtin University and Bachelor of Design in Architecture from the University of Sydney.

  • Alexandros Pissarides

    Alexandros Pissarides, an Associate since 2020, received his Bachelor of Architecture from Syracuse University, Cum Laude.